5 Things To Do When You Feel Like Giving Up

The universe is giving you one gut punch after another and you’re at the end of your rope. If you’re anything like me, you’ve seen times where you think the only way to help anyone else is to eat a bullet. For me, I’ve walked that line my entire life, living with the dissatisfaction of never meeting my goals. Sometimes, You and Me, we just have to breath for a minute. Just because feel trapped because our expectations tend to be bigger than our resources. These five steps have really helped me center myself when the hurricane emotions hit.

hourglass

1. Stop Where You’re At

 

     Taking another step forward is probably slowing you down. You and I both know the overwhelming feeling of taking on too much, it’s scary, it can be debilitating. But slow your roll for just one day and take a break.

2. Look At The Things Around You

     This is a grounding technique that I picked up on at a hard point in my life. Look at the things around you – The trees, the leaves, the wind or the grass. Anything. Is your situation going to change what’s happening for the things around you? No? It’s not the end of the world, except for in your head.

3. Clean Up

     Now, this may be partial to some people, but when things are getting out of control, sometimes the only thing you have control over is your personal space. It really feels good to have control, even in the slightest ways.

88320013-sweeping

4. Read Self-Help Books Often

    This is something that I implemented into my life and do on a regular basis. It’s probably not going to calm you down if you’re in melt down mode. But, reading often about what’s going on in your head will help you understand it better in the long run.

5. Positive Self-Talk

     Stop telling yourself things aren’t going to change. Don’t tell yourself things will get better. Tell yourself things ARE getting better. Things ARE changing. Just like you can’t foresee the future, you can’t change the future by living anywhere but the present.

You are better than you think. You’re worth more than you know. Go for broke, never give up.

Leave a comment